Exposé: Teachers Caught Reading

Posted: March 18, 2011 in General

Here at the library blog we believe in hard-hitting journalism.  So, when it was recently brought to our attention that teachers had been observed reading books both on and off campus, we considered ourselves duty bound to research this phenomenon and present our findings to you, our blog reading public.  Today we present Part One of our investigation into the strange world of teachers and their books, in which we ask teachers four burning questions:

  • What are you reading?
  • What’s it about?
  • Why this book?
  • Who would you recommend it to?

 

Dr Benson

 

I’m reading Hans Fallada’s book Alone in Berlin.  It’s by a crazed alcoholic German, and it tells the true story of a couple who distributed anti-Nazi material in the 1940s during Hitler’s rise to power.  I’m reading it because Ms Cooper recommended it to me, but also because I feel that to neglect the past is to destroy the future.  I’d recommend it to senior students, Year 11 and 12.  And to staff. 

 
 
 Mr Ma

 I’m reading a lot of fan fiction and sci fi stories on the internet.  I read fan fic of well-known Japanese anime shows, but also American TV shows like Battlestar Galactica.  I’m reading it because it’s easy to access and I can read it on my phone any time I want, like if I’m on the way somewhere or just have some free time.  Also because I’m into sci fi and fantasy: when I was a student here at Uni High I read heaps of science fiction books from the library.  I’d recommend it to students who are interested in the TV shows that the fanfic is about.

 
 
Ms Watson

I’m reading Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capote.  It’s written from the perspective of an up-and-coming writer, about the elusive character of a pretty young woman who lives in his building.  There’s lots of suspense and mystery around her.  I’m reading it because some of my Year 10 students are studying it in their Lit class and have been talking to me about it, and I’ve never read it before… plus it goes well with coffee.  I’ve been trying to get my reading mojo back lately by reading every time I drink coffee.  I have to work hard at my reading mojo: it’s kind of fragile because I’m a really slow reader.  I’d recommend this book to anyone who’s interested in modern American literature.

 
 Mr Campbell

I’m reading an Isaac Asimov book called Foundation’s Edge.  It’s the follow-up to his Foundation trilogy.  It’s set in the future when Earth has colonized the universe, and it’s about what the future would be like if the whole universe was settled.  I’m reading it because in the last holidays I went to a second-hand book shop and they had the first three books of the series all in one volume for about two dollars.  I’ve always like Asimov’s writing but I hadn’t read any for ages.  The series was written from the 1960s to the early 80s but it’s interesting to read it now that our real world technology has surpassed all the things that Asimov was imagining.  He couldn’t have dreamt of what we’re doing with technology now: he certainly couldn’t have predicted the iPod!  It’s true science fiction rather than fantasy sci fi.  I’d recommend it to older students, people in their late teens.

Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    This is a sensational blog!

  2. a parent says:

    Some great tips there for parents too 🙂

Leave a Reply

