Miles Franklin Award Longlist

Posted: March 18, 2011 in General

The Miles Franklin Literary Award is a super-prestigious prize given each year to the best new Australian novel or play that portrays life in Australia.  The award is named after novelist Miles Franklin who, interestingly, was actually a woman (her real first name was Stella).  It has been happening annually ever since 1957 and is the source of lots of speculation every year as book lovers wonder who will be the lucky author to win not only publicity and critical acclaim but also fifty thousand dollars in prize money.  (Sadly blogs are not eligible for the Miles Franklin award but we here at library blog HQ live in hope.)

This year’s long list is particularly noteworthy because popular Young Adult writer Melina Marchetta, author of Looking for Alibrandi, has been nominated as a contender for her latest novel The Piper’s Son.  It is quite rare for a YA author to be included in the list so the library blog is very excited about this unexpected turn of events and will keep you updated about future developments.

The list of novels up for the Miles Franklin award is as follows:

Jon Bauer – Rocks in the Belly
Honey Brown – The Good Daughter
Patrick Holland – The Mary Smokes Boys
Melina Marchetta – The Piper’s Son
Roger McDonald – When Colts Ran Vintage
Stephen Orr – Time’s Long Ruin
Kim Scott – That Deadman Dance
Kirsten Tranter – The Legacy
Chris Womersley – Bereft


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s