APA Book Design Awards

Posted: June 3, 2011 in General
Given that the library is currently running its own book cover design awards, we were very interested to find out (via one of our favourite library bloggers) that the Australian Publishers Association recently announced the winners of its 2011 Book Design Awards.  We have posted a few of our favourites below: what do you think?

Best Designed Young Adult Book: Graffiti Moon (Cath Crowley) designer Melanie Feddersen. Best Designed Fiction Book: Jasper Jones (Craig Silvey) cover designer Lisa White.


Best Designed Children’s Cover of the Year: The Staring Owl (Luke Edwards) cover designer Luke Edwards. Best Designed Children’s Fiction Book The Midnight Zoo (Sonya Hartnett) designed by Tony Palmer .


Young Designer of the Year: Emily O’Neill for Ape House (Sara Gruen), Journey to the Stone Country (Alex Miller), Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand (Helen Simonson), and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society (Mary Ann Shaffer & Annie Barrows).

  1. Bob Nerdlington says:

    Who is the oldest teacher in the school? Is it Doctor Benson, or Doctor Bunsen Burner

  2. Mollie Bobeff says:

    I really like them all, but something about the Jasper Jones design really drew me in. Maybe it’s the lighting coming through the blinds but it certainly established a mysterious mood.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s