Teachers Caught Reading: Episode 2

Posted: June 3, 2011 in Good reads

After the success of our last eye-opening expose on teachers and their reading habits, we were inspired to learn more.  So this week your devoted library bloggers slung our cameras over our shoulders, make a rudimentary clipboard out of a picture book and a bulldog clip, and set off like the intrepid reporters we are to to find out more about the bizarre world of teachers and their books.  We hunted down teachers in their offices to ask them four questions:

What are you reading?
What’s it about?
Why did you choose this book?
To whom would you recommend it?

Here for your amusement and edification are our findings.

 Ms Steffensen

I’m reading Looking for Alaska by John Green.  It’s about a boy who goes to boarding school.  He was previously really isolated but at his new school he becomes friends with, and then falls in love with, a girl called Alaska.  It’s a story about a sixteen-year-old boy coming into his own and becoming really infatuated with a girl.  I don’t want to say any more about the plot!  This book was recommended to me by some people in my Year 10 Lit class: we were talking about books we like and a couple of students asked me if I’d read any of John Green’s books.  I think it’s pitched at a female teenage audience, but it has some pretty adult content in it.

Mr Marotta

I’m reading The Third Man by Graham Greene.  It’s a spy novel in which a third-rate Western novelist tries to work out why his friend was killed.  I’m reading it because at the moment I’m really interested in novels that are written in the first person so I’ve been looking for books that have first-person narrators and that are well written and not teen-oriented.  I don’t want to hear the teenage voice.  I hear enough of the teenage voice here [gestures to VCE centre].  Ms Marquard suggested that this would be a good one to read.  It’s really short, more like a novella really.  I’d recommend this book to anyone interested in the crime genre and this style of writing where characters are really well constructed.

Ms Cooper

I’ve just read The Reluctant Fundamentalist by Mohsin Hamid.  It’s about a young Pakistani man who is educated in the USA and takes on Western values really vigorously: he enjoys the good life, plenty of money, women, food, alcohol, the works.  Then when the September 11th attacks happen, he re-examines his life and comes to some amazing decisions.  This book was recommended to me by a librarian.  I devoured the whole thing in just a few hours.  It’s un-put-down-able.  Is that a word?  I’d recommend this book to Year 11 and Year 12 students.

Mr Bickham

I’m reading a book from George R.R. Martin’s Songs of Ice and Fire series called A Game of Thrones.  It’s about nobles struggling for power in a medieval fantasy world.  It’s got swords and fair maidens and the possibility of dragons.  I found out about this book because I played a board game that’s based on it!  Also there’s a new HBO series that’s based on this series of novels.  It’s meant to be the best fantasy series of this decade.  I’d recommend it to older teenagers: maybe from Year 10 onwards.

Leave a Reply

