Students Caught Reading, Again

Posted: September 16, 2011 in Good reads, Student reviews

Here at the library we often notice that students are reading books.  We like this because we love reading books too: in fact it is pretty much our favourite thing to do, along with having cups of tea and alphabetizing stuff.  But what are these young people reading?  And why?  Today we once again confronted some students in the library and demanded to know exactly what was going on with them and their books.

Oscar  (Yr 7)

I’m reading the fourth book in the Scott Pilgrim series, which is called Scott Pilgrim Gets It Together.  It’s a graphic novel about a guy who gets a girlfriend and she has seven evil ex-boyfriends that he has to kill if he wants to be with her.  I’m reading it because one day I was at the library looking at books over there where all the comics are, and I picked up the first book in this series.  After I finished it I looked for the second one but I couldn’t find it so I read the last one and now I’m reading this one.  It’s really funny but it’s kind of about relationships as well.  And also kung fu.  It’s a good book for anybody.

Frida  (Yr 9)

I’m reading Holes by Louis Sachar.  It’s about a boy who gets in trouble and is given the choice between going to a juvenile correction camp and going to jail.  He chooses to go to the camp: he’s never been to camp before because his family’s poor.  All they do at the camp is dig holes, one hole per day every day.  It’s about why they’re digging holes and if he’s going to escape or not.  I heard from people in primary school that it was really good.  It’s not really a girly book but that doesn’t mean that girls won’t like it.  It’s good for everybody.

Morgan  (Yr 10)

I’m starting to read  The Overcoat And Other Short Stories by Nikolai Gogol.  It’s a book of short stories.  I don’t really know what it’s about yet.  I’m reading it because I heard about it from my dad: he said it was amusing.  I’m not sure yet who I would recommend it to.

.

Sarah  (Yr 12)

I’m reading Dead Aid by Dambisa Moyo.  It’s about financial difficulties in Africa and why other countries shouldn’t give aid.  People think aid is good but it generally just goes to corrupt leaders who don’t give it to the people.  It also means that people become reliant on aid and can’t establish viable financial means.  The author proposes ceasing all foreign aid to Africa in the next five years.  I’m reading it because Ms Seeger gave it to me: it’s relevant to what we’re doing in International Studies.  I’d recommend this book to anyone who’s interested in the world and politics and making our world better.

Ellen  (Yr 12)

I’m reading The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery.  It’s a story about a little prince who comes from his planet to earth and brings his philosophy with him.  I’m reading it because earlier in the year I was feeling a bit down and my friend Gaby told me that if I read The Little Prince it would make me feel happy.  It worked!  I would recommend it to everybody: it’s a book for kids and adults and everyone in between.  It’s really beautiful.

Leave a Reply

