Teachers Caught Reading: Episode 3

Posted: September 16, 2011 in Good reads

Once again the library blog is proud to bring you another installment in our series entitled Teachers Caught Reading.  It seems that reading continues to be a very popular pastime among Uni High staff and today we hunted down some teachers (and librarians) to find out more about them and their books.

Ms Fisher

I’m reading the Jerilderie Letter by Ned Kelly.  Basically it’s a document he wrote to describe the way he was treated by police and the reasons behind his shooting of three police officers.  It’s a great read because it’s a classic case of someone who writes like he speaks.  You really do feel like you’re listening to him talk: it’s riveting.  What prompted me to read it was the recent finding of Kelly’s bones at Pentridge Jail.  I think every Australian should read it.

 

 

 

Mr Beekman

As a teacher I’m always reading half of something: it’s been ages since I actually finished a book!  I’ve been reading heaps of philosophy for school.  Yesterday I read the whole Declaration of Independence.  At the moment I’m reading Karl Popper’s Science, Conjectures and Refutations.  Popper questions what makes something science rather than pseudoscience: how do we draw the line between the two?  And can humans ever really reach the truth about questions?  I’m reading this book because I teach philosophy but also because I’m really interested in it.  I’d recommend it to philosophy and science students but also anyone who’s interested in politics and humanism: Popper’s also a good political writer.

 

 

Ms Garra-Riley

I’m reading The Madonnas of Leningrad by Debra Dean.  It’s about an older woman who has dementia.  She and her husband are getting ready for their grandchild’s wedding.  As the dementia takes hold, her youth comes back in bits and pieces and she flashes back to her younger days when she used to live in Russia and work at the Hermitage.  I’m reading this book because I really like historical novels.  I had just finished reading Geraldine Brooks’ Year of Wonders when I saw this book in the library: it grabbed my attention because it had ‘Leningrad’ in the title.  I wouldn’t recommend it to a younger audience.  I think older people would enjoy it more.

 

 

Mr Browning

I’m reading The Unbearable Lightness of Being by Milan Kundera.  It’s set in Eastern Europe during the spread of communism, and it’s a story about a couple who flee their homeland to live this really decadent, upmarket lifestyle in Switzerland: but it doesn’t make them happy.  Their real happiness comes from being at home on their land, even though their country is really war-torn.  It’s about love and friendship and the search for happiness: it’s based on Nietzsche’s philosophy of happiness.  It’s also about the idea of learning through experience and the fact that suffering gives you perspective.  I’m reading it because I’m interested in philosophy and the human condition.  I’d recommend it to people who are over twenty-five.  Mr Foster said that he read it when he was too young and he didn’t get it.

Leave a Reply

