Student Review: Dreams of Gods and Monsters

Posted: August 11, 2014 in Good reads

Hello literature fiends! This week on the blog one of our Year 12 students, Jackie Li, kindly dropped by to review Laini Taylor’s Dreams of Gods and Monsters. Have you read this book? What did you think?

godsandmonsters

The final installation of Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy, I loved it! War! Fantasy! Angels! Demons! I fell in love with some characters and hated others with my gut. I laughed and cried (uh no, I didn’t actually – it was liquid pride). I wished I could traverse time and space, and visit the angel/chimaera world.

Dreams of Gods & Monsters is a journey of self-discovery and love, transcending good and evil, right and wrong, life and death. Throughout the epic journey, the reader will come to understand the effect of transitions in characters. Explore existentialism: does anything and everything matter?

The entire series is emotional. Ebullient one page, heart-rending the next. It made me gasp, laugh, frown, smile… It made me stop breathing, needing to relearn it. It made my heart race, halt and restart. I finished the series with a smile on my face, from ear to ear.

Published by Hodder & Stoughton, its ISBN is 1444722735. I’ll buy the whole series when I’m done with school, relive the journey, and conjure my own using inspiration from Taylor – such a great author, a great person, a great… ‘godstar’.

Leave a Reply

